Gordo’s Gaming Blog

My adventures in the many worlds of gaming.

My Relationship with WoW

with 4 comments

I make no secret that I despise what WoW has become. The world’s biggest timesink. Yet I still see fun in it. Even when I read about incoming features that I hate, I nearly always see things that I love at the same time. My interest in this Titanic of a game has been sparked again recently by my friend offering me a ‘Scroll of Ressurection’, causing my account to regain activity for 10 days.

Those 10 days are drawing to a close, but they’ve certainly been thought-provoking and insightful. I’ve hit one of the lowest milestones in the game, in getting to level 70. In some ways, that’s where my interest in the game ends. I’ve no desire to lose hours of my time grinding an instance for a piece of gear that allows me to progress to the next level of instance to grind. I love instances, I love raids, but not when I’m doing that instance for the hundredth time. I really enjoy learning the instance, how the bosses work, I like a challenge, and I enjoy the ‘process’ of a raid, the organisation, and the feeling when it all works out, and that boss is down. But the raids in WoW take that enjoyment I experience and stretch it to the limit.

WoW grabs you with pretty graphics and easy gameplay, and sucks even the most anti-gamers in, and pretty soon they play it religiously, barely stopping to eat. It’s something we’ve all read stories about. And yet, for some reason, I don’t feel the same way. I’m not compelled to play 16 hours a day until I’ve got my ‘Epix’. I’ve no desire to spend my life in Alterac Valley. It got me thinking, why?

I think the truest answer is, that WoW is a game for people who’ve never played a game before. I mean that in an extremely loose sense of the word. Not people who’ve literally never played a game before, but people who’ve never connected with a game. People who’ve never seen what a game can really be, all the range of emotions it can bring. WoW simply provides a medium through which people can enlarge their ego, by getting better gear than someone else. That makes people feel good, but a game should be so much more than that. A game should excite you, frustrate you, make you laugh, make you sigh (because men don’t cry!), make you feel empathy, and act on that empathy so you end up feeling better about yourself and the situation you worked on. To me, WoW does none of that. Maybe that’s because I’ve seen all those things at work in better, greater games. Sorry WoW, but you’re too shallow for me. You don’t provide those things. I’ve no connection with the world, or the other characters. You just have me, as a player, looking at the next piece of gear on my wishlist. But I tend to think, ‘It doesn’t have to be like this’, and pretty soon I end up logging out. And I think unless Blizzard take WoW in a totally different direction, I might not ever be able to truly enjoy it.

Written by Gordo

July 14, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Posted in MMO

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very very well put Gordo. I think what annoys me most is when people treat it with a reverential status when its just a video game and they compare EVERYthing to it as if it was the standard of perfection and if stuff doesn’t measure up they go right back to. Blech. p.s. plz come on over to my blog and see if you have any ideas to share with me and Anton for the game were making. 🙂

    Thallian

    July 17, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  2. I just got into Wizard101 a couple of weeks ago when my son saw the TV commercial. We played for a bit, and I enjoyed it, and I liked spending game time with my son. I decided to have a look at when my WoW account was going to expire/renew (I had a 6-month subscription), and it was going to expire/renew itself within a couple of days, literally. I made an economical decision and got two 12-month subs to W101 for less than 12 months of WoW for me alone.

    I’d been playing WoW for 3 1/2 years, and I did love it. Fantastic game. Lots of fun. Made some great friends, who I still keep in contact with. But now I’m playing an MMO with my son.

    Maybe I’ll go back to WoW some day, especially as it’s a good way to keep in touch with my sister & her family (I live in the U.S., they’re in Australia). But maybe by the time I make that decision I’ll be so far behind my in-game WoW friends that I’ll unsubscribe almost immediately.

    Capn John

    September 25, 2008 at 5:01 pm

  3. I think activities aught to end. Even the never ending story, ended.

    Take any activity you like and if you do it for long enough, you’ll start to hate it.

    Callan

    April 29, 2009 at 12:21 am

  4. I think you’re on to something important there. I didn’t think about it like that before. I’ve done what you do – waited for WoW to be entertaining again. But you’re right. It’s a terribly shallow game.

    Your description was spot on for me. WoW was what introduced me to PC games (used to be a console person), and I adored it in the beginning. But it just went downhill from there. I quit playing, started again with tBC expansion, got bored quickly – then I quit and started again for WotLK. I quit again. Now I’ve come to realise that it won’t get any better. There are many other games with much, much more to offer.

    Good post, this one! 🙂 I can see that it’s a year old, but it still fits for me. 😛 Have a nice day!

    saftsuse

    August 8, 2009 at 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

