Gordo’s Gaming Blog

My adventures in the many worlds of gaming.

And stay out!

with 12 comments

While scouring the blogsphere this evening, I came across a comment by Thrade on Syp’s rather excellent WAR blog. This is what he said:

“I hope as many WoWfanboys stay with WoW as possible; I don’t want any of there [sic] kind in our new game.”

It got me thinking – as a potential future player, nay, stakeholder in WAR, do I want WoW fanboys joining me in the ‘World of Warhammer’?

Now, my good, charitable, kind upbringing causes me to immediately say I shouldn’t say I want them to stay away. I should offer a place for them, I shouldn’t discriminate. But what if it ruins the experience for everyone else? What if it causes other players to leave? Kind of like the big loud blokes who gatecrash a party, and the original, pleasant guests disappear. Surely you’d say you should have locked your doors to them before they came in, and allow everyone else to enjoy the party? That’s what I’d say too. But Mythic can’t shut their doors to people. They can’t have interviews with people who want to play their game, and review them on a case-by-case basis. People who want to play do so. So why would people from WoW, come to WAR, dragging alongside them their ‘CHUCK NORRIS PWNZ UR MOM’ attitude? Well:

  1. WoW is old. No denying it. It’s passed its sell-by-date. It’s lost its youthful vigour and now creaks and groans each time you load it up.
  2. Blizzard butchered their lore, their dignity and their souls to keep it on top. As a result, it’s not really a hugely fulfilling experience. It feels like a timesink.
  3. They’re now clutching at straws trying to keep the subscriber numbers up. If they lose their grip, the subscriber numbers will snowball. They’re shamelessly stealing sucessful features from other MMOs (that’s where this whole discussion stemmed from) – as a result, WoW is losing it’s originality, starting to look like some sort of inbred mongrel rat. Sort of like this. Whereas WAR, built from the ground up to integrate these features, holds them much better, and is looking pretty slick and smooth.

As a result, many WoW players want something new. But, even after 4 years in Azeroth and Outland, they still demand quality. And enough polish so you can see your face in it!

Why do they need the attitude? I hear you ask. Well, I think it’s more of an environmental thing. I guess when everyone around you, 10 million other players are talking like that, you just kind of pick it up. Naturally, you can’t beat them, so why not join them? Indulge in your immature side! The only problem is you find out you can’t revert back to standard English. You forget the phrase ‘is/am better than’ and in place your neurons only recall the term ‘Own’ or ‘Pwn’. You forget all manners of earthly Deity, and in his/her/their place is Chuck Norris, Texas Ranger. And for some reason, you have a strange obsession with peoples’ mums…

I guess what I’m trying to say, is try to show these people a little understanding. Clearly we can’t be shot of them, so use it as an oppourtuinity to show them that you needn’t behave like they do when playing with people online. Show them the civilised way, chuck them an invite to your guild if you’re able too. Maybe if everyone can ‘De-PWN’ a WoW fanboy, the WARld will be a better place.

Written by Gordo

July 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good message

    Thallian

    July 17, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  2. Good msg indeed =)
    I’ll do my best to re-educate them if they come.
    Forgive me for being grateful if they don’t. <3

    thade

    July 18, 2008 at 3:30 am

  3. Hehe thanks :)

    Gordo

    July 18, 2008 at 6:48 am

  4. WoW does bring out some of the worst behaviour in people, but I’m pretty sure that goes along with the game. If they’re given something different, they’ll either adapt or scream they want it to be like WoW.

    I think WAR is reasonably insulated against them because they’ve got a firm understanding and direction for their own game. The players will adapt or go back to what they’re comfortable with.

    Rog

    July 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

  5. It’s interesting – I remember in the AoC open beta, the global chat was basically filled with what people dubbed ‘Blizz-Trolls’ or ‘WoW-Trolls’. People who were so fed up with WoW they couldn’t face it any more, yet they couldn’t adapt to a different game. Any feature in AoC that was different to WoW they complained about – and yet they were clearly unhappy with WoW, or they wouldn’t have bothered to get into the AoC beta. I mean, it’s a 20 GB client and you had to get the key within a couple minutes of them going up for grabs.

    It’s a case of ‘can’t live with WoW, can’t live without it’ I think.

    Gordo

    July 18, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  6. Yeah there’s too much of that going on. I think people need more perspective or something so they can consider each game on its own merits instead of comparing it constantly to what they had before.

    Thallian

    July 18, 2008 at 3:56 pm

  7. I really love this post! I mentioned your site on my blog.

    Alex Vos

    July 31, 2008 at 7:42 am

  8. I’m not so sure I agree with your post on . Here’s my rebuttal

    John Foro

    July 31, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  9. There will be idiots in every MMO. I dont think WoW is losing steam at all.. aint the numbers still growing?

    Blizzard aint clutching at straws just because they are implementing a similar achievements system. They have never really been that original and that is not going to change in the future.

    And no im not a WoW fanboy. Stopped my subscription few months ago, but im sure as hell going to buy WOTLK (and WAR).

    Juhani Nopanen

    August 1, 2008 at 7:17 am

  10. If I wasn’t already committed to playing WAR at launch, you would have won my poor WoW heart over. If more people extended and open hand instead of a closed fist, there would be more people jumping ship already.

    Oakstout

    September 2, 2008 at 5:42 pm

  11. [...] has launched the highly anticipated MMORPG, Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning (WAR), in North America, Europe and the Oceanic territories. With the game’s servers now [...]

  12. Well what say you now after a very poor launch and subscription retention levels barely above 25%?

    Perhaps if WAR ‘stole’ some ideas from blizzard and WoW they may have been a bit more successful

    pitrelli

    February 10, 2009 at 3:36 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

